Protecting the Consumer and Servicing
the Trade with Independence and Integrity

Wardens and Guardians



Assay Office Birmingham is not controlled by the trade – unlike the older assay offices and halls which were originally administered by the Guilds – but by a non-exec  board of 6  Wardens who are elected from the 36 Guardians of the Standard of Wrought Plate in Birmingham, of whom not more than nine or less than six may be connected with the trade. Below is a list of Guardians and Wardens of Assay Office Birmingham: 


Kate HartiganChairman

David DoyleWarden

Martyn Pugh MA FRSA FBCU FSDCWarden

David Clarke DL FCIPRWarden

Carol Brady MBEWarden


Mrs. Kate Hartigan Ms Michelle Cartwright Mr. James Newman*
Mr. Neil Andrews Mr. David Doyle * Baroness Christine Crawley   
Mr. Daniel Dalton Ms. Helen Miles Mr. John Wood
Mr. Tim Clay Ms Alicky Wibaut Mr. Simon Meddings*
Mr. David Clarke DL Mrs. Stella Layton  Mr. Martyn Pugh *
Mr. Stephen Whittaker*    Lord Jones of Birmingham    Mrs. Sharon Lea
Mr David Gregory-Kumar  Mr. Michael Donaldson Mr Tom Green*
Mr John Henn* Mrs Carol Brady Mr. Andrew Morton*
Prof John Heath Ms Mary Martin Mr. Simon Rea
Mr. Stephen Jones Mr. Charles Smith  Mr. Gary Wroe*

NOTE * Trade Guardian

Names highlighted in bold are Wardens


Your item has been added to the basket

You need to create an account, or login before you can add this item to your basket.