Protecting the Consumer and Servicing
the Trade with Independence and Integrity

Professional Jeweller formally unveiled its Hot 100 2015 at thrilling evening event

Last night our very own Assay Master Stella Layton was honoured in the prestigious annual Professional Jeweller Hot100!

 PJ Hot 100 2015 logo in silver

Stella was in great company with Birmingham Jewellery School's Gaynor Andrews, Holts Academy Jason Holt and London Diamond Bourse's Victoria McKay also receiving well deserved recognition.

 Embedded image permalink

The Professional Jeweller  individuals chosen for its Hot 100 2015  were officially unveiled during a lavish party at the Freemason’s Hall in Covent Garden.

More than 750 guests packed into the Grand Temple on September 7 to see who has been chosen as the most inspiring, innovative and influential members of the UK jewellery trade.

This year saw a marked increase in the number of retailers securing spots in the Hot 100, highlighting just how impressive and forward-thinking many of today’s retailers are. The Hot 100 was also shaken-up with a new category, Brand Champions, showcasing the sales directors, brand managers and industry experts who make companies and brands shine.  To find out who was chosen in this year’s Hot 100 take a look at the list below…

BUSINESS BIG SHOTS – sponsored by Clogau

Jo Lee, Joanna Mansbridge & Mary Serin,

vice president merchandising, director of jewellery & senior jewellery buyer, QVC UK

Chris Garland, managing director, Bransom

Michael Hakimian, chief executive officer, Yoko London

Sarah Filippardos, head of jewellery buying, Goldsmiths

Scot Walker & Andy Twigg, co-directors, Parify

Stephen Lussier, chief executive officer, Forevermark

Alan Frampton, owner, CRED jewellery

Scott Thompson, founder & chief executive officer, Carat*

Moyra Race, UK category manager fashion & luxury, World Duty Free

Jean Ghika, director, Bonhams Jewellery Department UK & Europe

Stuart Laing, chairman & chief executive officer, Houlden Group

Stephanie Wilkes & Clair Albone, jewellery buyers, Argos

Stella Layton, Chief Executive Officer, Assay Office Birmingham

Lucy Streatfeild Smith, jewellery buyer, Fortnum & Mason

Wendy Hallett, founder & managing director, Hallett Retail

Victoria McKay, chief operating officer, London Diamond Bourse

Adele Thompson & Lorna Burhouse,

head of buying & merchandising, buyer & merchandiser, Beaverbrooks

Deborah Jarrett & Natacha Schnieder, jewellery buying controller & buyer, H Samuel

Jonathan Pressley, managing director, Pressleys & Chalfen of London

Ian Harebottle, chief executive officer, Gemfields

Naomi Newton Sherlock, director Weston Beamor & creative director, Domino Jewellery










 Stella Layton - CEO & Assay Master - Assay Office Birmingham

RETAIL STARS – sponsored by International Jewellery London

Alex Goodman & Nicky Morris, owners, Goodman Morris

Tracey Brown, director, Chisholm Hunter

Mike Rice, James Rice & Danielle Rice-Hewitt, co-directors, Hugh Rice Jewellers

Tom & Edward Ferris, co-directors, Swag Jewellers

Pippa Knowles & Jason French, co-directors Baroque Jewellers

Mark Warren, retail director UK & Ireland, Swarovski

Anthony Coe, director, Coe & Co

John Hirshman, director, Drakes

Michael Cox, director, Michael Spiers Jewellers

Judith Hart, managing director, Judith Hart Jewellers

Keith & Max Newlan, director & store manager, Kings Hill

Johnny Rocket & Niall Paisley, co-directors, Johnny Rocket

Peter Wong, managing director, Wongs

Leanne Rogers, director, Sarah Layton

Kiyan Foroughi, CEO & co-founder, Boticca

Lee & Maureen Hooson, co-founders, Mococo

Jason Allum, managing director, Allum & Sidaway

Jo Stroud, owner, Fabulous

Mandy Sargeant, owner, RL Austen

Dominic Gomersall, managing director, Lumbers

Michael Laing, chairman, Laing Edinburgh


BRAND CHAMPIONS – sponsored by Bransom Retail Systems

Sonia Menezes, brand manager, Clogau

Mark Faulkner, UK country manager, Endless Jewelry

Richard Cox, sales director, Gecko

Gareth Thomas & John Reid, head of brand development & head of sales, Brown & Newith

John Crossick, Nick Callegari & James Cook, managing director,

wholesale director & retail director, Thomas Sabo

Jaimee Hollier, senior sales manager, Fossill Group

Claire Miller, manufacturing manager, Weston Beamor

Mark Owens, brand director, Links of London

Oliver Crouch, sales manager, Continental



Dr Robert Organ, deputy warden, Goldsmiths Company Assay Office

Lucy Rees Raybould, executive director of operations, Company of Master Jewellers

Judith Lockwood & Gary Wroe, co-directors, Arctic Circle

Jason Holt, chief executive officer, Holts London

Gaynor &rews, head of school, Birmingham School of Jewellery

James Courage, former chief executive officer,

Platinum Guild International & former chairman, Responsible Jewellery Council




Simon Johnson – Vice Chairman NAG, Marmalade

Gary Williams – Deputy Chairman BJA, Presman Mastermelt

Gary Wroe – Chairman BJA, Hockley Mint

Andrew Hinds – Chairman NAG, F Hinds

Pravin Pattni – Deputy Chairman NAG, Minar Jewellers

Helen O’Neill – Vice Chairman BJA, PMC Studio



Ruth Bewsey, director, Daisy London

Leila Kashanipour, founder & creative director, Leivankash

Kasun Ekanayake, creative director, Kasun London

Tessa Packard, founder & creative director, Tessa Packard

Shona Marsh, creative director, Shona Marsh & designer, Stubbs & Co

Ornella Iannuzzi, founder & designer, Ornella Iannuzzi

Alice Cicolini, creative director, Alice Cicolini/Winterson

Fei Liu, owner, Fei Liu

Sarah Ho, founder & chief executive officer, Sarah Ho London

Sara Prentice, creative director, Garrard

Ivonna Poplanska, creative director, UJT Ltd & Boudici London

Pippa Small, owner, Pippa Small Jewellery

Dinny Hall, creative director, Dinny Hall

Marisa Hordern, founder & creative director, Missoma


NEXGEMS – sponsored by Curteis

Shikha & Satbir Tamber, founders, Esoteric Luxury

Laura Parra, designer-maker & owner, LaParra

Flora Bhattachary, director & designer, Flora Bhattachary

Jennifer Saker, founder, Jennifer Saker

Vinay Souadakar, chief executive officer & co-founder, Manja Jewellery

Phoebe Sherwood Moore, founder & designer, Pheobe Jewellery

Rosie May Hofman, designer-maker & owner, Rosie May Hofman

Charlotte Valkeniers, designer & director, Charlotte Valkeniers

Tom Blake, director, Keep Me Jewellery

Connie Nam, founder & chief executive officer, Astrid & Miyu

 Congratulations Stella. Very well done indeed!






British Academy of Jewellery Final Show 2022 at Birmingham Assay Office

5th Aug 2022

Learn more

British Hallmarking Council and National Association of Jewellers announce the HALO Award for online promotion of the hallmark.

30th Jun 2022

Learn more

The Birmingham Assay Office elects four new Guardians of the Standard of Wrought Plate.

7th Jun 2022

Learn more

British Hallmarking Council and National Association of Jewellers announce the HALO Award for online promotion of the hallmark.

30th Jun 2022

Learn more


25th Sep 2018

Learn more

City of Wolverhampton wins Touchstone Award 2018

8th Jun 2018

Learn more



Your item has been added to the basket

You need to create an account, or login before you can add this item to your basket.